Just a Man

Zarah K has contributed this stirring poem – She wrote: “having observed the recent trend on PTH, I thought I should make a “feminist” contribution of my own. I’m no poet so I’m afraid it is amateurish… and also a bit edgy.” Zarah your edginess is most endearing and we will share it here… (Raza Rumi)

i am a man not a mensche
don’t expect me to see beyond
your broken heart,
your broken hymen

feed me your vulnerability,
and the ravages of your vulgarity,
i am a vulture i am Vulcan,
venerate me, burn for me

godless, shameless,
you lie naked on my prayer mat
tonight, all night, i will call you my hoor
tomorrow i will call you a whore

because, can’t you see?
i have a birthright to this hypocrisy,
for your soft secrets to caress only me,
for the power to call it your depravity

remember i am a man, just a man,
don’t expect me to see beyond
your broken heart,
your broken hymen

5 Comments

Filed under men, poetry, psychology, Women

5 responses to “Just a Man

  1. faizaabi

    There are good thoughts but it is bit too long.I liked the last two stanzas and they convey better than the rest.

  2. sherryx

    My god not a poet? She should be ordered by law to write poetry. Its a lovely poem, such powerful lines
    “godless, shameless,
    you lie naked on my prayer mat
    tonight, all night, i will call you my hoor
    tomorrow i will call you a whore”

    barvo—–

  3. p singh

    our country needs women rights activists. because feminism in the WEST specially europe is taking a horrible turn. it is becoming ANTI-MALE. feminist organizations are coming up with anti male laws and creating an anti male environment.

    specially the gender and radical feminists (as if there are other types left today who are influential)

  4. sagi

    absolutely says everything from “godless, shameless,” till the end…a great effort and yeah a man is just a man

  5. kashkin

    beautiful poem!